This module covers customising, publishing and sharing your StoryMap.
Estimated time: 20 mins
To adjust how your StoryMap looks to visitors, go to edit view and click on Options at the top left, which opens the ‘Display’ tab. Here you can set:
?button. Your chosen fonts are applied to the whole StoryMap.
Your StoryMap is finished and ready to be shared with the world.
In the top right corner, click on Share.
At the top is the Link box. This gives the URL at which your storymap will be published.
You can copy and paste your StoryMap’s URL from the Link. Alternatively, use the Social buttons to share your storymap directly on social media.
You can enter text in the Link box, but you will not usually be able to change the URL at which your map is published. If you accidentally alter or delete the text for your link, simply close the Share window and then open it again. The link for your storymap will appear correctly again.
Click close, and your StoryMap will be made publicly visible.
Publishing a StoryMap with the authoring tool is irreversible. You can delete it, which will remove it from the web, but you can’t make it private.
Once a StoryMap has been published, a “Publish” button will appear next to the save button every time you save changes. Until you click Publish, your saved changes will be private to you. Your changes will only be visible on the web after you publish them.
Other options in the Share window allow you to configure what information will appear automatically about your storymap when a link to it is shared by any user on social media sites like Facebook and Twitter.
Any text you enter under Description will display automatically on social media whenever a user provides a link to your StoryMap.
You can also pick an uploaded image as your Featured Image, or upload a new one. Your Featured Image will also display automatically on social media when a user posts the link to your storymap.
You have now published and shared your StoryMap.